Our Executive Team

The Strategic Executive Group (SEG) is the most senior leadership team which is accountable to the Board for the day-to-day operations of the Post Office. The Group Executive changed to the SEG in February 2024.


Nick Read – Chief Executive

Nick joined Post Office as Chief Executive Officer in September 2019. Nick was most recently Group CEO at Extra Energy and prior to that CEO at Nisa Retail Limited where he led the stabilisation and transformation of the business ahead of its sale to the Co-Op in 2018.

Nick has over 25 years of consumer and commercial experience and has previously held senior roles at Tesco, Vodafone, HBOS, Lloyds Banking Group and Thomas Cook.

In his earlier career, Nick was a Consumer and Retail Strategy Manager at Deloitte Consulting, a Purchasing Director for Aldi UK and spent 4 years as Captain of the 4th/7th Royal Dragoon Guard, H.M. Forces.

Owen Woodley – Deputy Chief Executive

Owen joined the Post Office in June 2016 as the Sales Director, having previously spent four years as Managing Director of the retail business at Lloyds Bank with responsibility for the branch network and customer base. Prior to that, he spent 20 years at Barclays where he undertook a number of senior roles in retail and commercial banking, both in the UK and sub-Saharan Africa. He subsequently launched and ran a new UK bank in the wake of the financial crisis, Shawbrook, which focused on commercial property and asset finance lending. He was promoted to Group Chief Commercial Officer in February 2020 and Deputy Chief Executive in July 2023.

Owen was a member of the Board of Governors at Nottingham Trent University from 2014 to 2023.

Alisdair Cameron – Group Chief Finance Officer

Alisdair joined Post Office in January 2015. Prior to this appointment, from 2002 to 2014 he worked in a variety of roles for Centrica plc, a FTSE 100 company, including Director of Audit and Risk, Group Financial Controller, Finance Director of British Gas and Managing Director of British Gas Enterprise. Previously he was a partner with Deloitte and Arthur Anderson and served as a trustee of the e-Learning Foundation.

Alisdair was a Non-Executive Director of Dover Harbour Board and previously served an 8 year term as a Non-Executive Director of Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Chris Brocklesby - Chief Transformation Officer

Chris joined the Post Office in August 2023. He is responsible for all aspects of IT and Change at the Post Office including the transformation programme which will replace Horizon. Chris has spent the last 15 years in various CIO roles in Retail, Travel, Telecoms and Financial Services with businesses such as Tesco, Tesco Bank, easyJet, Vodafone and Dunelm.

Prior to this, he had a 20 year career in IT consultancy as a partner in Accenture’s Financial Services London practice. 

Karen McEwan - Group Chief People Officer

Karen joined the Post Office in September 2023 as Group Chief People Officer. Karen has an extensive executive leadership background, most recently with more than six years at McColl’s, acting as Interim Chief Executive Officer to lead the business through the administration process to the successful sale to Morrisons plc. This appointment followed a five-year period leading cultural change as their Chief People Officer and subsequently Chief Operating Officer.

Before her time at McColl’s, Karen held a variety of Director roles during a long and successful career at Tesco, which spanned general management and HR, including five years as People Director where she led the HR transformation for Tesco’s UK Operation.

Karen was recently named as a ‘woman to watch in retail’, for her achievements in diversity and inclusion.

Latest News